Skip to content

2023 Peter Porter Poetry Prize


Last date
3 October 2022

Who may enter?
Entries are welcome from poets anywhere in the world. There is no age limit.

Short description
The contest is organized by the Australian Book Review.

The Peter Porter Poetry Prize is one of Australia’s most prestigious prizes for a new poem. The Prize – open to all poets writing in English – is named after the great Australian poet Peter Porter (1929–2010).

Entries must be a single poem of no more than 70 lines, written in English. Poems can be on any subject and in any style.

Poems must not have been previously published.

The judges are Sarah Holland-Batt, Des Cowley, and James Jiang.

Entries must be submitted online via the ABR website.

Entry fees
Each entry must be accompanied by an entry fee of AU$25, or AU$15 for current ABR subscribers.

The winner will receive AU$6,000.
The other four shortlisted poets will each receive AU$1,000.

How to enroll?
For further information visit the official competition website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *