Skip to content

ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize 2021


May 3, 2021

Who may enter
Entries are welcome from writers anywhere in the world. There is no age limit.

The Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize is an annual short fiction competition run by the Australian Book Review.

Entries must be a single, original story of between 2,000 and 5,000 words, written in English. Stories can be on any subject and in any style.

Previously published, prize-winning, or broadcast stories will not be accepted.

Entries must be submitted online.

The 2021 judges are Gregory DayMelinda Harvey, and Elizabeth Tan.

2020 Winner
Mykaela Saunders was the winner of the 2020 ABR Elizabeth Jolley Short Story Prize for her story ‘River Story’.

Entry fees
Current ABR subscriber: AU$15
Standard/non subscriber: AU$25

• 1st prize: AU$6,000
• 2nd prize: AU$4,000
• 3rd prize: AU$2,500

The three shortlisted stories will be published in the August or September 2021 issue of Australian Book Review and on the ABR website.

Competition website
For further information visit the official competition website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *