Skip to content

AWP Award Series 2021


Submission opens:
January 1, 2021

Submission closes:
February 28, 2021

Who may enter
The AWP Award Series is open to all authors writing original works in English for adult readers.

The competition is run by the Association of Writers & Writing Programs (AWP), a nonprofit literary organization based in US.

AWP’s Award Series is an annual competition for the publication of excellent new book-length works. The competition is open to all authors writing in English regardless of nationality or residence, and it is open to published and unpublished authors alike.

The Award Series defines “book-lenght” as:
— Poetry: 48 pages minimum text;
— Short story or creative nonfiction collection: 150-300 manuscript pages;
— Novel: at least 60,000 words.

Poems and stories previously published in periodicals are eligible for inclusion in submissions, but manuscripts previously published in their entirety, including self-published manuscripts, are not eligible.

There are four Prizes:
• The Donald Hall Prize for Poetry
• The Grace Paley Prize for Short Fiction
• The AWP Prize for Creative Nonfiction
• The AWP Prize for the Novel

Manuscripts must be uploaded to between January 1 and February 28, 2021.

Entry fees
$30 for nonmembers and $20 for AWP members

• Donald Hall Prize for Poetry: $5,500 and publication by the University of Pittsburgh Press
• Grace Paley Prize for Short Fiction: $5,500 and publication by the University of Massachusetts Press
• AWP Prize for Creative Nonfiction: $2,500 and publication by the University of Georgia Press
• AWP Prize for the Novel: $2,500 and publication by New Issues Press

How to enroll
For further information visit the official competition website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *