Skip to content

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2022


1 November 2021

Who may enter
Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth coutry.

Entrants must be aged 18 years or over on 1 November 2021.

The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation.

The story should be adult fiction and must not have been written for children alone. There are no restrictions on setting, genre or theme. Entries must be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words maximum.

The story must be original work and should not have been published anywhere, in full or in part, in any language, before 1 May 2022.

Entries should be submitted in English, with the following exceptions: entries from Commonwealth citizens who write in Bengali, Chinese, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish and who do not have an English translation of their story, may submit their stories in the original language.

Entry fees

The competition is free to enter.

There will be five winners, one from each region (Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean, Pacific).

The overall winner will receive £5,000 and the remaining four regional winners £2,500.

How to enroll
For further information visit the official competition website.

2 thoughts on “Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2022”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *