Skip to content

Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2023


Last date
1 November 2022

Who may enter?
Entrants must be citizens of a Commonwealth country.
Entrants must be aged 18 years or over on 1 November 2022.

Short description
The Commonwealth Short Story Prize is an annual award for unpublished short fiction administered and funded by the Commonwealth Foundation.
The story should be adult fiction. There are no restrictions on setting, genre or theme.
Entries must be 2,000 words minimum, 5,000 words maximum.
The story must be original work and should not have been published anywhere, in full or in part, in any language, before 1 May 2023.
As well as English, stories are accepted in the Bengali, Chinese, Creole, French, Greek, Kiswahili, Malay, Portuguese, Samoan, Tamil and Turkish languages.

Entry fees
The competition is free to enter.

There will be five winners, one from each region (Africa, Asia, Canada and Europe, Caribbean, Pacific).
The overall winner will receive £5,000 and the remaining four regional winners £2,500.

How to enroll?
For further information visit the official competition website.

1 thought on “Commonwealth Short Story Prize 2023”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *