Skip to content

Grindstone International Short Story Prize 2021



Entries submitted during the Early Bird phase of our prize will receive an Advanced Announcement, detailing the result of their entry.

  • Early Bird: Submit before the 1st of May 2021
    • Receive the result of your submission by ​the 1st of July 2021
  • Final Submission: Submit before the 1st August 2021
    • Receive the final announcement on October 16th 2021

Advanced Announcements Early Bird entries include the result of your submission and will inform you whether your work is being considered for our longlist, or whether it has not moved forward.

Entrants whose work is not moving forward may then edit and reenter in a later phase of the same prize if they so wish. 


The Grindstone Short Story Prize returns this year, seeking out the best short fiction writers from around the world. With previous winners submitting from the UK, Australia, New Zealand, the United States, Canada, to name a few, this is truly a global prize that rewards creativity.

Writers are asked to submit a piece of short fiction between 1000 and 3000 words, of any genre, aimed at adult readers.

The final deadline for entries falls on the 1st of August 2021, and the winners will be announced on October 16th 2021.

Entry fees

  • Early Bird: £8.00
    • + £8.00 Optional Feedback Supplement​
  • Regular Submission: £10.00
    • + £8.00 Optional Feedback Supplement​

Entrants submitting without feedback will be required to pay the listed entry fee. Those who wish to receive feedback will be required to pay the feedback supplement of £8.00 and follow the below guidelines.

If you wish to receive feedback, you may include two feedback prompts should you want our judges to answer specific questions or focus on specific areas. If no prompts are included, feedback will be provided on the areas our judges feel needs the most attention.


  • Grand Prize – £500
  • Runner Up – £200
  • 4x Shortlisters – £50
  • The top 20 entries will be curated into our yearly anthology and published in print.

The winners will be announced on the 16th of October 2021.

How to enroll

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *