Skip to content

The Fish Poetry Prize 2023


Last date
31 March 2023

Who may enter?
The competition is open to poets of any nationality writing in English.

Short description

The competition is organized by Fish Publishing, an independent publishing company based in Ireland.

The Fish Poetry Prize was established in 2006. Previous judges include Billy Collins, Brian Turner, Leanne O’Sullivan, Michael McCarthy, Peter Fallon, Matthew Sweeney, Paul Durcan, Ruth Padel, Nick Laird and Jo Shapcott.

We are delighted that Billy Collins will again be judging. Billy will select the 10 poems to be published in the Fish Anthology 2023.

There is no restriction on theme or style.

Poem length is restricted to 60 lines. The title is not included in the word limit.

The winning poems must be available for the Fish Anthology and, therefore, must not have been published previously.

Entry fees
First entry: 14 €
Subsequent: 9 €

• 1st prize: 1,000 €
• 2nd prize: 300 € and a week in residence at Anam Cara Writer’s and Artist’s Retreat, West Cork, Ireland
• 3rd prize: 300 €

How to enroll?
For further information visit the official competition website.

1 thought on “The Fish Poetry Prize 2023”

  1. I am easy ready and
    Reedy and daft enough, and wise,
    My poesie is and isn’t hot air
    Black air brow-beaten air
    It must rise visible
    Down Waterloo Street stink
    With watery tempo and wind wine
    And beat in particular
    I struggle in my soul with the larch
    Reedy and ready and daft
    Though I think he really meant perch.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *