Skip to content

The Restless Books Prize for New Immigrant Writing 2023


Last date
31 March 2023

Who may enter?
Participants must be first-generation residents of their country. “First-generation” can refer either to people born in another country who relocated, or to residents of a country whose parents were born elsewhere.

Short description
The competition is organized by the Restless Books, an independent, non-profit publisher located in Brooklyn, New York.

The Restless Books Prize for New Immigrant Writing was created in 2015 to honor outstanding debut literary works by first-generation immigrants, awarded for fiction and nonfiction in alternating years.

The submission should address some combination of identity, the meeting of cultures and communities, immigration and migration, and today’s globalized society.

This year, the competition is open to nonfiction submissions.

Nonfiction submissions can take the form of a memoir, a collection of essays, or a book-length work of narrative nonfiction.

Authors must not have previously published a book of nonfiction in English.

All submissions must be in English.

Entry fee
The competition is free to enter.

The winner receives $10,000 and publication by Restless Books.

How to enroll?
For further information visit the official competition website.

2 thoughts on “The Restless Books Prize for New Immigrant Writing 2023”

  1. Thank you for making your entry free.
    But I don’t understand, why must the writer be a first generation resident?
    Why must it be a nonfiction writing??

    I really wanna write,but am not eligible…’s so sad.
    Could you reconsider??

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *